Hither House Cottages

(631) 668-2714

Contact Us Today

Testimonials



Relaxing Winter Getaway

Hither House Cottages is a Wonderful Place to Stay any Season. The Property is Stunning with all the Trees, Flowers, Birds and Deer. The Cottage we stayed was Charming. Decor, Wood Burning Fire Place, Kitchen, Living room, Bedroom, Closed in Porch, BBQ. You can see the Water from your steps with some of the cottages.

** Plus My Favorite It's Pet Friendly ** Every Morning we got up early walked on the beach, drove around town, Light House. There is so many Beautiful things to see.

Date of stay: February 2019
Eileen M wrote a review Feb 2019

Perfect place for a self-contained family with a friendly dog

If all you want is a perfect little hideaway near the beach for your little family and the dog, then this is the place. The owner, Wen, is very responsive, organized, and welcoming. The cottages are fully equipped; the beds are comfortable; the surrounding area is well-maintained, beautifully landscaped, and quiet. We made full use of the outdoor shower outside of our room. On Saturdays and Sundays there's a lovely little continental breakfast in the gazebo. But nothing topped the daily 10-minute walks down to the dog-friendly beach with our Wheaten (allowed on the beach before 10 am and after 6 pm). We'll be back.
Date of stay: July 2018
Beth R wrote a review Jul 2018


Wonderful experience

Several of my dear relatives were staying at Hither House this weekend for their cousins' wedding in Montauk . My Godson Paul and his wife Cassie, my brother in law Michael and his sister and brother in law, Joyce and Jack and now their cousins Jess and Brian !

Thank you so much Hither House, for helping out my niece Christine [beset by dire hurricane circumstances in Florida] so her cousins could take her spot.

Myself , Chana [Anna] and Shirdi [black and white cocker spaniel, now deceased] spent many happy summers staying in, I believe it was, the efficiency apartment and I have always highly recommended this serene establishment .

With Gratitude, Namaste,
Felicia Gironda
Brooklyn N.Y. and Bushkill, PA
Date of stay: September 2017
fgironda wrote a review Sep 2017

The hidden treasure of Montauk

Review of Hither House Cottages
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's like having your own vacation house at Montauk, with none of the cares. Short walk to their nice private quiet beach. They also include beach parking permits for the other town beaches around Montauk. The landscaping is beautiful. In the summer on weekends they provide a continental breakfast in the gazebo. They are pet friendly, so you don't have to leave any of the family home. We enjoyed having a kitchen for our homecooked meals. Our front deck was furnish & had a BBQ(use that too),the view was excellent. We had a smaller deck off the bedroom too, with a great view. Our living room was comfortable with a nice big flat screen tv(cable tv& HBO) & dvd,cd player. They also have free Wi-Fi.Oh lets not forget the woodburning stove & A/C, also fully heated for the winter. They are open year round. The beds are very comfortable. The shower had all the hot water with great pressure. The owner / property manager, Wen Gamba couldn't be more friendly, all the staff was wonderful & helpful. For being dog friendly the cottages are kept immaculate will be returning in the fall. It will be the third time for me & may the count go on. We stayed in the south cottage, there are 8 different accommodations. We picked a great extended week end from August 24 to the 27, the weather was perfect. Tom & I (Michele) love it here. If you have any questions feel free to ask.
Date of stay: August 2012
A TripAdvisor Member


Great place to stay

Stayed at the West cottage which has a bedroom w TV, a fully equipped kitchen, living room w a large TV and a good selection of cable channels. A wood burning stove and a Screened In porch w table and chairs There is a grill and lounge chairs to enjoy the outdoors. This place is like a home away from home. Very clean, nicely appointed and private and quiet. Short drive to town, and short walk to beach. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: May 2017
Lalee9999 wrote a review May 2017

Love Hither House!

Review of Hither House Cottages
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This will be our 2nd return to Hither House this summer and our 3rd is already booked for September. For being dog friendly the cottages are kept imaculate! They don't offer marble floors and Viking appliances but we think it's perfect and when on vacation we usually stay at hotels such as The Fours Seasons. The owner / property manager, Wen, couldn't be more friendly and easy to deal with. She also offers a nice breakfast buffet in the gazebo. We love that we can bring our lab, he has a great time out there. It's a great place for a nice quiet weekend getaway.

Date of stay: July 2011


"A Magical Discovery"

As a traveler, every once in a while you find a place that speaks to you in a special way and you know that you will return. That is what happened during our stay at Hither House Cottages on a recent cold and foggy winter weekend. We were captivated by the charm and coziness of the rustic cottage in which we stayed. It was Immaculate and held every amenity a guest could want (fully outfitted kitchen, TV, wi-fi, comfy beds and chairs, etc). The decorative touches by the owner Wen...a wonderful mix of eclectic pieces that she chose because she liked them made it so endearing. But the peace and serenity of the location, the beauty of the grounds (even in winter), and Wen's warmth and graciousness as a host all combined to ensure that we will be back in the summer to further experience this Montauk gem.

Date of stay: January 2017
RoslynMann wrote a review Apr 2017

Home away from home.

We've been coming to Hither House for years in the fall and winter when it's quiet out in Montauk. All of the cottages are equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay including a Kitchen (stocked with utensils, plates, glasses etc.), classic Weber kettle BBQ grills, CableVision (more channels than most big hotels), WiFi, fireplace, etc..

Each of the cottages have their own personality and there are varying sizes. The furniture is mix and match -no ultra modern stuff here but this place is kept immaculate by the housekeeping staff. The grounds are kept in tip top shape, with neatly trimmed shrubbery and a cute gazebo, each cottage also has seating for dining outdoors, some of the cottages have a screened in porch with tables & chairs as well.

The beach is a short walk too but if you'd like to take a stroll on the beach at night-bring a flashlight, deer are everywhere out here too so drive cautiously and be alert.

All in all, this place is lovely and serene. Unpack, get comfy and pour a glass of wine-this is where you want to be.

Date of stay: January 2016
meridian2 wrote a review Oct 2016


A cottage of dreams

First let me start by stating that Wen was extremely friendly and helpful from the beginning. She ALWAYS returns phone calls and assisted us in every phase of our vacation from the booking to checking out. We are thankful for her assistance and kindness. Now the cottage itself is immaculately clean, situated on a beautiful hill not far from the quiet beach area and within walking distance to town. I never experienced such peace on a vacation as I did at the Hither House. You are truly in a place of your own, private, and away from it all. We plan on returning in October! What a real dream. I wish I could go back and stay there.

Date of stay: August 2016
Julie F wrote a review Aug 2016

A beautiful retreat.

We have now made this our special place when staying at Montauk. The rooms each are different but wonderful. The place is clean, quiet and beautiful. So far each location has a fireplace. One time I sat on the balcony looking at the night sky. Another time (different room) I sat out back by our picnic table. Hither House is excellent.

Date of stay: November 2015
stone2thebone wrote a review Apr 2016


still my favorite place- shhh!

Hither House is my favorite hideaway in Montauk. Hard to believe that there isn't more people proclaiming their love for this place on here. Probably for the best as I really want this place to keep vacancies for the last minute bookings I inquire for so often.

This spot is a great option for family reunions, bachelorettes, family vacations. Some complain that its too far from everything but I disagree. It's just a block away from the best beach in Montauk IMO. Away from the nightclubs and loud noise that Montauk now brings since it grew in popularity 5 years ago.

Date of stay: May 2015
Jackie S wrote a review Dec 2015

A great place to stay

This area of Montauk is a really great place to stay, very quiet and friendly. Hither House is a short walk to the lovely beach. The West Cottage fronts on Hayes Rd and does have a partial view of the ocean. It was comfortable, clean, and everything worked fine. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2014
Irish-rover2009 wrote a review Nov 2014


Best deal in all of Montauk!

This is the hidden gem of places to stay on Montauk. It's hidden in a residential area,so it's very relaxing and quiet. The cottages are very clean,and unbelievably cheap. They all have full kitchens and grills,we barbecued one night. The landscape is beautiful,the rooms are…

Date of stay: September 2014
Renee G wrote a review Sep 2014

Great Way to Experience Montauk

We loved our stay at Hither House! My husband and I just recently adopted an 8-year-old rescue dog, and we were worried about finding a welcoming place to go on vacation with him. Hither House surpassed all expectations. Our North cottage was perfectly clean, comfortable and cozy. How wonderful that they accept pets! Housekeeping was top-notch throughout our week-long stay. Having a kitchen allowed us to prepare meals and save money. The closest beach is beautiful, and dogs are allowed off-leash until 10am and after 6pm during high season. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. The landscaping at Hither House is gorgeous. We loved that a parking permit to local beaches was included as we spent a good amount of time at Ditch Plains. Wen and Felicia were friendly and very helpful. Also, the Wifi was excellent. We hope to make it back again soon!

Date of stay: August 2014
Amarantah wrote a review Aug 2014


Family gathering during Christmas

Every Christmas for the past five years has been filled with logistic problems - who's going to who's? This year, my wife's parents and my own, along with our three kids and Sacha, our dog, decided to do something different. We all wanted to be by the beach - somewhere quiet, where we could do family meals together and go for walks. We looked at lots of places in and around Montauk and luckily fell upon Hither House. We booked a couple of cottages right next to each other and even bbq'd in our patio. Our cottages were cozy, well equipped with wood furnace, all the cookery etc. needed. Lovely, simple and comfortable place - and very private. I'd recommend. We happen to have spent a unique Xmas.

Date of stay: December 2013
lulilululi wrote a review Jan 2014

My dog will come back again and again!

The rooms were very clean and the staff could not have been any nicer! It was great to share a week in Montauk with our dog, running on the beach was priceless. The walk to the beach is a couple of blocks but it's worth it, it's very private. The manager "Wen" has a beach pass that you may borrow to drive to other nearby beaches. We stayed in the East/West cottage, it was very nice, we will definitely ask for the same unit next year!

Date of stay: August 2013
Jim S wrote a review Sep 2013


Wonderful pet-friendly accommodation!

Overall: Great location, clean and very affordable during off-season! Would stay here again.

Location: The cottages were a 5-8 minute walk from the beach. Depending on what cottage you're in you also have a partial sea view. We were in the Hither cottage and had a distant view from the kitchen area. Cottages are also about a 5 minute drive to town where most of the nice restaurants and grocery stores are.

Accommodations: We stayed in the largest cottage, Hither Cottage, which was definitely MUCH bigger than we needed for 2 people + a puppy, but it was the only one left. Hither cottage was expensive, and I hope next time we return we can pick from the smaller ones. Having said that, the space was just as shown in the photos. The rooms were very clean and cozy and even though we didn't use the fireplace, the heaters worked really well and it was very warm at night. We didn't use the kitchen amenities much, but if you're staying awhile w/ friends or family, the cottage is very well supplied w/ everything from grilling utensils to an espresso machine. Beds in the cottage were very comfortable - in the fall/winter, I think they should supply warmer blankets, though. TV & free wifi worked very well. Bathroom was a good size - the water pressure was good... the only minus was that if you're tall, you'll definitely have to crouch in the shower (at least in the one in the Hither cottage).

Other: Service was fine.. we didn't have much need for assistance, other than at check-in. They offer pet sitting, which we didn't use, but it's nice to have the option. Restaurants we enjoyed: Harvest on Fort Pond, Surfside Inn. Must try The Lobster Roll on you're way in or out on Montauk.

Date of stay: October 2012
NYCTraveller999 wrote a review Nov 2012

The hidden treasure of Montauk

It's like having your own vaction house at Montauk,with none of the cares.Short walk to their nice private quiet beach.They also include beach parking permits for the other town beaches around Montauk.The landscaping is beautiful.In the summer on weekends they provide a continental breakfast in the gazebo.They are pet friendly,so you don't have to leave any of the family home.We enjoyed having a kitchen for our homecooked meals.Our front deck was frunish & had a BBQ(use that too),the view was excellent.We had a smaller deck off the bedroom too, with a great view.Our livingroom was comforble with a nice big flatescreen tv(cable tv&HBO) & dvd,cd player.They also have free Wi-Fi.Oh lets not forget the woodburning stove & A/C,also fully heated for the winter.They are open year round.The beds are very comforble.The shower had all the hot water with great pressure. The owner / property manager, Wen Gamba couldn't be more friendly,all the staff was wonderful & helpful.For being dog friendly the cottages are kept imaculate!We will be returning in the fall.It will be the third time for me & may the count go on.We stayed in the south cottage,there are 8 different accommodations.We picked a great extended week end from August 24 to the 27,the weather was perfect.Tom & I (Michele) love it here.If you have any questions feel free to ask.

Date of stay: August 2012
tessa3_12 wrote a review Nov 2012


Great escape from the city

We have just returned from a short break to Montauk and Hither House was a perfect getaway for our family of four plus dog! Well located only a short walk from the beach and well furnished with everything you need. Lovely gardens and bbq and sun loungers for each cottage. We stayed in the East West cottage which was a good size, though if the 4 of us went for a week we would stay at the larger Hither cottage (our children are very young).

We'd definitely go again and have already recommended to friends!

Date of stay: April 2013
FionaG77 wrote a review Apr 2013

We keep on going back

This was our fourth or fifth time going to Hither House. If you love the beach and your four legged family member, this is the place for you. It's a short walk to the beach. The facilities,(while not new) are very clean and well maintained...kind of "shabby-chic". The kitchens have coffee makers,(some have blenders)and stove tops. Wen the owner is very friendly and accomodating. We love Montauk and Hither House is a little gem.

Date of stay: September 2012
Grandma108 wrote a review Sep 2012


Love Hither House!

This will be our 2nd return to Hither House this summer and our 3rd is already booked for September. For being dog friendly the cottages are kept imaculate! They don't offer marble floors and Viking appliances but we think it's perfect and when on vacation we usually stay at hotels such as The Fours Seasons. The owner / property manager, Wen, couldn't be more friendly and easy to deal with. She also offers a nice breakfast buffet in the gazebo. We love that we can bring our lab, he has a great time out there. It's a great place for a nice quiet weekend getaway.

Date of stay: July 2011
IslandgirlstuckinNYC wrote a review Jun 2012

Very Homey and Pet Friendly

My husband and I decided on a last minute getaway and found The Hither House. We always bring our dog, so it was great it was pet friendly. We had read the negative reviews and were a little nervous, but we were so happy with the place we stayed an extra night! The South Cottage was clean and homey and we loved we had a private deck. The staff was very friendly. It's only a short distance from the town and the beach. If you're looking for a nice, quiet, comfortable place, this is one of them! We will be booking our trip next year at the Hither House!

Date of stay: May 2012
Jennifer G wrote a review May 2012


Nice Cottages, Great Staff

My wife and I have stayed here on a couple of occasions during the offseason. The cottages are located within easy reach of the city center if you have a car and within walking distance of the beach. You have a variety of room options, from the cheaper studio to larger individual cottages with decks. They are also pet friendly (at least in the winter), and the staff is always incredibly helpful. The area is incredibly quiet and peaceful.

Like most Montauk stays, the reservation process is a bit clunky, but that's the only flaw I can find. It must be said, if you are taking a train to Montauk, this place is located out of town, so be prepared to call a cab.

Date of stay: January 2012
Atom H wrote a review Mar 2012

Great for people and pups.

Wen...the owner is charming and friendly. The accomodatons are spotless. The location is sooooo convient to the beach. The best part is Hither House is pup friendly. Our four legged family member loves her daily beach outings as do we. Comfortable, clean, convienent.......what more do you need?

Date of stay: September 2011
Grandma108 wrote a review Oct 2011


Lovely experience

We stayed at the Studio Cottage with our two teenage children and German Shepherd. It was clean, quaint, a short scenic walk to the beach. The managment was friendly and solicitous. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back next year, in a bigger cottage. Well worth it.

Date of stay: July 2011
elisaesq wrote a review Aug 2011

Great private place to get away from the City

I spend the weekend at Hither House and I just got back 3 days ago. It was great to be there. I enjoyed so much my private time there. It really helped me release my stress. The Cottage was so cozy and warm, I can't believe how nice and clean everything is. The staff was so helpful and friendly, they provided all the questions that I had. Plus they are so close to the beaches and town. I really enjoyed my time spend there; I would definetely recommend this beautiful place to everyone. I am going back next month to get away from the city and I can't wait to be there.

Discover19802 wrote a review Feb 2005


The Hither House is an awesome find!!!!

I stayed at the Hither House with my boyfriend this past weekend. We had been looking for hotels to stay at in Montauk and were disappointed when we found out that almost all of them had a 3 night required stay. We discovered the Hither House (no 3 night stay required) and were shocked at how low the prices were. The recent reviews were all good so we decided to book it. Later we looked at the older reviews and saw that some of them were very poor, so we weren't really sure what to expect. We were blown away when we got there. Not only was the owner incredibly nice and accommodating, but the cottage was spacious and very clean. I did not understand how anyone could leave a negative review about this place! If you are looking for a five star hotel..this is not it. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and affordable homey place that is close to the beach and a 2 minute drive from the town..this is it!

Date of stay: July 2011
mreenog wrote a review Jul 2011

Totally relaxing for people and 4 legged friends!

When I arrived with my 2 lettle pugs I was so surprised that such a lovely landscaped property accepted animals!! I was more surprised when Weu the owner opened the door of the Hither cottage- It was clean and the kitchen was well stocked with everything for both cooking, baking and clean up! the rooms were spotless and very comfortable.

The view was terrific from the sottage and it had a nice patio.

It is a short drive to town and the beach and plenty of places to walk the dogs-you must take them off the property to do their business and there are plenty of places to take them!

If you are looking to relax this is the place!!! It is quite and comfortable, please adhere to the pet rules so that it remains pet friendly. I will return as often as I can !

Date of stay: May 2011
sued16 wrote a review May 2011


Perfect Montauk Summer Cottage.

We stayed at the Seaview Cottage. It was perfect for us and our dog Shakespeare. The staff was very considerate of our privacy. They made sure our cottage was always clean and waited until we were out to do their work. Plenty of linens. It's exactly what you would or should expect from a summer cottage. Short access to the beach, private area of the back yard, private grill. We were very happy here. Most of all our dog Shakespeare was happy here. We would go back again whenever possible. The owner, Wen, was very polite and kind to us. Maybe that's because we treated her and the staff like family instead of enemies.! Gerri and Dave Engel, Florida.

Date of stay: August 2010
gerriengel112 wrote a review Apr 2011

Perfect Family Getaway!

I had read all the reviews for this place before booking, so I felt good, but you just never know how your family will like places compared to other families. We traveled with our miniture yorkie, so we needed a pet friendly location. In Montauk there are not that many. I am so glad the Chamber of Commerce gave me the help I needed. The Hither House cottages are not a huge complex-so you know who is the manager, who cleans your cottage and it has a homey feel. The management was very friendly! The reviews saying otherwise were probably from people who wanted to party and be loud. This is not the place for that!(Thank goodness!) All of the staff do an excellent job-the housekeepers clean everything, and I mean everything! They even cleaned the grill after each use! The grounds are kept perfect by a very hard working man who is very polite and always has a smile for you. One the weekends they have a very nice breakfast for you with coffee, milk, juice, bagels, muffins, fruit, etc. We liked that it was still available after taking the dog to the beach or if you want to sleep in! I even had forgotten matches and foil to grill and the office was eager to help-after hours! I can not say enough about how great this place is! The owner is very hands on and greets everyone, always making sure you are happy! The only down fall is not hearing the waves at night-but oh well-we will be back next year!

Date of stay: September 2010
Jenilyn Marcel wrote a review Sep 2010


Amazing!

Would love to keep this place a secret, but don't want them to loose business. These cottages are very charming, extremely clean and close to everything. Peaceful, quiet and beautiful scenery. Although the furniture is dated, everything is very clean and they provide a little bit of everything in the kitchen if you choose to cook your own meals. Staff is very friendly and always available if there are any problems. Family had a wonderful week leading up to New Year's. Took a 5 minute taxi into Montauk village and enjoyed a wonderful New Year's at the Harvest. Would highly recommend Hither House to anyone with families and pets.

Date of stay: December 2009
Daysend13 wrote a review Jan 2010

Great Family Getaway with Furry Friend!

My family and I just returned from a wonderful stay at Hither House in Montauk, NY. We have a Chocolate Lab in the family and we wanted to bring her along. I had heard that dogs are allowed on most Long Island beaches. For those of you wondering about this, I found it to be true. The rules are as follows: Between Sept. 15 and May 15, dogs are allowed anytime. After May 15 they can be on the beach before 10 a.m. and after 6 p.m. which is still pretty great! They can be off-leash as well!

As choices are limited when you have a dog, we gave Hither House a try, in spite of some of the negative comments we read on TripAdvisor. We are so glad we did! We stayed in Hither Cottage which is the largest unit they have. My husband and I had a separate bedroom with a king size bed. Our boys slept in the family room area on a queen size bed. There's a separate sitting room with a fireplace. There's one bathroom and a kitchen with everything that you might need to prepare meals. We brought all our food and ate at the cottage for most every meal. The best part is the outdoor area. There's a patio with lounge chairs, a large picnic table, a barbeque, and a large grassy yard all for your private use. There's a pretty view of the ocean from the yard. The beach is about a 5 to 10 minute walk through the residential neighborhood in which the motel is located. But once you are there, it is not crowded because it is a private beach. We rather enjoyed the strolls back and forth.

The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful to us. She asked us when we would like the cleaning staff to come and they arrived exactly when we requested them to each day. They were thorough and efficient and did an excellent job. I will agree that the furnishings are old. However, we found the place to be very clean and stocked with plenty of linens, soap, shampoo, etc.
If you are looking for a luxury experience with spa treatments, flat screen televisions, and room service, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for family time with backyard barbeques, tossing the football in the yard, s'mores, and romps on the beach with your pooch, we highly recommend Hither House!

Date of stay: May 2008
ksdee1 wrote a review May 2008


Fantastic accommodations and location

Hither House
We spent 4 days in this wonderful place. The cottage is outstanding in every way. Fully functional kitchen, well stocked with utensils, stove, fridge, and Microwave. Excellent coffee service. Nice dining and living room combination with large screen TV. TV's in main room and bedroom with nice cable. Secure and quick internet connection. Beautiful sun room and well maintained grounds. Great bathroom with plenty of hot water! Spacious parking right at the entrance to the cottage.
My Doberman was made welcome and he loved the amenities for him also. Only 6 minute walk to a beach access with a breathtaking view! The location was nice and privately located; a quiet neighborhood away from the busy traffic areas. Close to the many attractions here; shopping dining out, and partying at the local night spots, and the beach is outstanding!
But most importantly, was the staff. MS Wen from the front office was extremely helpful with driving directions, restaurant recommendations and seafood markets locations. Stopped by a few times to see if there was anything we needed, and took very good care of us. The housekeeping staff were unobtrusive and kept the place spotless. On our 5800 mile road trip, Hither House, Montauk, was by far the greatest and nicest place we stayed at, and not that expensive at all. Well worth every cent we paid. Hated to leave there.

www.bringfido.com Jun. 08, 2018
Ralph
Member since March 2018

Awesome Comfort

Wood burning stove, kitchen conveniences & attentive staff. I recommend the Hither House, at the risk of 'No Vacancy' next time I'd like to visit!

Mary Ann
www.bringfido.com Jun. 08, 2018


Arrived at our cottage which was so nice clean and perfect for our two night stay. we brought our dog who loved playing on the lawn and sleep in the shade the trees gave. Woke up in the morning before beach opened which was a close walk to the beach. We took a stroll on the first day to the food market stopped at Cyril's for lunch (dog friendly) They had a BBQ grill so picked up some fish to grill for dinner. They had a patio table and chair set outside which we had breakfast on before our walk to beach and on the second day to the light house then to Red Hook lobster for lunch (dog friendly) .. great place to stay for two nights that is so close to beach and town for shopping and drinking (Def a plus that Darwin was in heaven with the plush well kept grass)

Yelp
Vanessa V.
Long Beach, NY
8/14/2015

Cheap & Cheerful at its best!

Just got back from my 3rd stay at Hither House. My original review still stands.

Yelp
Michelle B.
Lake Worth, FL
9/24/2012


I just came home after spending 3 wonderful nights. It was very clean inside. The area is amazing. I took a nice 10 minute walk to the beach every day ! Everything you need in the kitchen is provided. Free Wi-Fi and two nice big flat screen tv. BBQ grill outside your door. Downtown is 5 minutes away! Oh, the big plus for me is that they are dog friendly. The other big plus was one night it was cold and rainy. There is heat in the cottage but it was so nice to have a wood burning stove. It was a great choice and I can't wait to go back !!!

Yelp
MC.
West Babylon, NY
6/3/2015

This is our second stay at Hither House and we have absolutely loved both of our stays. Like others have pointed out this is not a "luxury" hotel. However, there is beautiful scenery and a private beach within walking distance. The cabins are clean and the cleaning crew come every day. Its equipped with a full kitchen and supplies, which we have found works great for us! It's the most peaceful place we've stayed in Montauk. What makes this place extra special is you get to bring your pet and our dog Koda LOVES it.

This time around we came to Hither House Cottages for our own wedding, with the ceremony on the private beach. Wen, the owner, was more than accommodating and even bought us a bottle of prosecco for the occasion! The beach was a perfect setting for our ceremony and the cabins were perfect for our guests and after wedding reception/BBQ.

I have recommended this place to a few of my friends and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet serene place to stay.

Yelp
Kellie M.
Queens, NY
6/11/2017


If all you want is a perfect little hideaway near the beach for your little family and the dog, then this is the place. The owner, Wen, is very responsive, organized, and welcoming. The cottages are fully equipped; the beds are comfortable; the surrounding area is well-maintained, beautifully landscaped, and quiet. We made full use of the outdoor shower outside of our room. On Saturdays and Sundays there's a lovely little continental breakfast in the gazebo. But nothing topped the daily 10-minute walks down to the dog-friendly beach with our Wheaten (allowed on the beach before 10 am and after 6 pm). We'll be back.

Yelp
Beth R.
Stamford, CT
7/29/2018

Had an awesome time here very cozy the bed was like a cloud really needed the rest after a long drive. The view was incredible. Waking up from my bed and had the ocean view what a way to start the day took a walk to the beach less then 5 minute walk. Not to far from town. The owner was more then helpful wit towels and friendly recommending restaurants near by. The cleaning staff came by everyday overall worth staying and coming back

Yelp
Rodrigo M.
Manhattan, NY
10/23/2017


Don't understand how someone can write such a negative review. If you read below Monica left a negative review because she cancelled, Mindy left a negative review because the place was awkward? and Kate didn't like it because it wasn't the Four Seasons.

Do not listen to these pointless reviews.

It's a cabin/cottage, 10 minute walk from the beach, 5 minute drive from shops and restaurants and is a perfect weekend getaway from any sort of city life.

I've stayed here for a weekend the past two April's and would fully recommend it.

The cabins are well kept, clean, and have all amenities you could ever want.

Ocean views, clean, full kitchen, full bathroom, WiFi, free grill, multiple TVs, and large outdoor patio areas for all cabins.

It bothers me that people leave negative reviews with no real reasoning other then they like to use Yelp to complain.

Yelp
Nicholas J.
New York, NY
4/22/2014